The board of the national institution shall consist of five members. Stortinget, has elected Cecilie Østensen Berglund as Chair of the board and Knut Vollebæk as Deputy Chair. Other elected board members are Gro Dikkanen, Jan E. Helgesen and Anne-Sofie Syvertsen.

The board has overall responsibility for the national institution's activities, finances and operation. The board shall adopt an overall strategy for the activities, approve the national institution's activity plan, submit annual reports to the Storting, submit annual accounts, and submit annual budget proposals to the Storting's Presidency